Inequality, Power, and Social Regulation

Faculty members in this area explore social inequality along multiple dimensions including class, race, ethnicity and immigration status, sexuality, and gender. They also examine the ways in which social institutions, social processes and social practices (included those related to crime, policing and surveillance) are infused with, and shaped by power. Examples of research in this area include studies of citizenship and identity, education and social inequality, the relationship between economic inequality and political attitudes in cross-national perspective, policing and terrorism studies, and income inequality and crime across nations.

Research Stories

Current Projects

Completed Projects

Faculty Experts in Inequality, Power, and Social Regulation

Tracey Adams, Professor

Tracey Adams
  • Work
  • Professions
  • Regulation of professions in Canada
  • Social inequality
  • Gendered professions
  • Health professions
On Leave - January 1 to June 30, 2023
SSC 5328
519-661-2111 x85120
tladams@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Dale Ballucci, Assistant Professor

Dale Ballucci
  • Sociology of Law
  • Sociology of childhood
  • Criminology and Policing
  • Young offenders
  • Theories of Governance
  • Administration of the criminal justice system

SSC 5403
519-661-2111 x85140
dballucc@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

David Calnitsky, Assistant Professor

David Calnitsky
  • Economic Sociology
  • Inequality
  • Gender
  • Work
  • Poverty
  • Social policy

Patrick Denice, Assistant Professor

Patrick Denice
  • Social inequality, social stratification, and mobility
  • Life course
  • Education
  • Labour markets
  • Union and non-union influences on wages

SSC 5407
519-661-2111 x85725
pdenice@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Janice Forsyth, Associate Professor

Janice Forsyth
  • Aboriginal physical practices, health, and identity
  • Power relations and the body
  • Sociology of sport
  • Sport and Canadian culture
  • Canadian sport history
On Leave - July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023
SSC 5211
519-661-2111 x84849
janice.forsyth@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Michael Gardiner, Professor

Michael Gardiner
  • Sociological theory
  • Theories of affect (especially boredom)
  • Sociology of the everyday
  • Utopia
  • Dialogical social theory (the work of Mikhail Bakhtin in particular)

SSC 5424
519-661-2111 x85139
megardin@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anders Holm, Professor

Anders Holm
  • Quantitative methods
  • Socioeconomic status over the lifecourse
  • Social stratification
  • Inter-generational mobility
  • Sociology of health

SSC 5327
519-661-2111 x 85515
aholm@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Laura Huey, Professor

Laura Huey
  • Policing
  • Criminal victimization
  • Mental health
  • Extremism
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Evidence based policy-making

SSC 5213
519-661-2111 x85151
lhuey@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Wolfgang Lehmann, Professor

Wolfgang Lehmann
  • Social inequality
  • Social class
  • Sociology of work
  • Higher education
  • Vocational education
  • School-work transitions

SSC 5430
519-661-2111 x85385
wlehmann@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Kaitlynn Mendes, Associate Professor

Kaitlynn Mendes
  • Gender inequality
  • Social media
  • Sexual violence
  • Youth
  • Mixed methods research

SSC 5415
519-661-2111 x87356
kaitlynn.mendes@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anabel Quan-Haase, Professor
Rogers Chair in Studies in Journalism and New Information Technology

Anabel Quan-Haase
  • New media and social change
  • Digital activism
  • Social media
  • Social networks
  • Digital social capital
  • Scholarly digital communication

SSC 5413
519-661-2111 x86952
aquan@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Howard Ramos, Professor
Chair, Sociology

Ramos_sm.jpg
  • Political sociology
  • Immigration
  • Equity, diversity, inclusion
  • Social change
  • Media studies
  • Secondary cities

SSC 5316
519-661-2111 x85142
howard.ramos@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Scott Schaffer, Associate Professor

Scott Schaffer
  • Contemporary and global social theory
  • Processes of social change
  • Social inclusion
  • Social ethics
  • Public sociology
  • Cultural critique, and Resistance movements

SSC 5411
519-661-2111 x85122
scott.schaffer@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Sean Waite, Assistant Professor

Sean Waite
  • Social inequality
  • Gender inequality
  • Higher education outcomes
  • LGBTQ and the labour market
  • LGBTQ identity, poverty and health
  • Criminology and deviance

SSC 5401
519-661-2111 x87689
swaite3@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Yoko Yoshida, Associate Professor

Yoshida_sm.jpg
  • Immigration and integration
  • Social statistics
  • Race and ethnicity
  • Social inequality
  • Inequality in health

SSC 5409
519-661-2111 x85045
yoko.yoshida@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anna Zajacova, Associate Professor
Graduate Chair, Department of Sociology

Anna Zajacova
  • Social epidemiology
  • Health inequalities
  • Demography
  • Lifecourse and aging
  • Ethnicity
  • Quantitative methods

SSC 5330
519-661-2111 x85123
anna.zajacova@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile