Aging and the Life Course

The life course perspective provides a framework for understanding processes of inequality and change both within individuals and across various levels of society.  Faculty working in this area study aging over the life course as a social process with attention to the intersections of individual lives, social structures, and social change. Faculty research includes examinations of family ties and aging; work, family and policy; trajectories of socioeconomic status and health from early life through old age; and the extended process of identity formation across the life course.

Research Stories

Current Projects

Completed Projects

Faculty experts in Aging and the Life Course

Patrick Denice, Assistant Professor

Patrick Denice
  • Social inequality, social stratification, and mobility
  • Life course
  • Education
  • Labour markets
  • Union and non-union influences on wages

SSC 5407
519-661-2111 x85725
pdenice@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anders Holm, Professor

Anders Holm
  • Quantitative methods
  • Socioeconomic status over the lifecourse
  • Social stratification
  • Inter-generational mobility
  • Sociology of health

SSC 5327
519-661-2111 x 85515
aholm@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Rachel Margolis, Associate Professor
Undergraduate Chair, Department of Sociology

Rachel Margolis
  • Demography
  • Social inequality
  • Family change
  • Aging

SSC 5326
519-661-2111 x82850
rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Kim Shuey, Professor

Kim Shuey
  • Health and disability across the life course
  • Transmission of health across generations
  • Precarious employment, work and health
  • Environmental sociology.

SSC 5426
519-661-2111 x85135
kshuey@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Andrea Willson, Associate Professor

Andrea Willson
  • Social inequality over the life course
  • Aging and the life course
  • Health effects of socioeconomic status across generations
  • Quantitative research
On Leave - July 1 to December 31, 2022
SSC 5423
519-661-2111 x85132
willson@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anna Zajacova, Associate Professor
Graduate Chair, Department of Sociology

Anna Zajacova
  • Social epidemiology
  • Health inequalities
  • Demography
  • Lifecourse and aging
  • Ethnicity
  • Quantitative methods

SSC 5330
519-661-2111 x85123
anna.zajacova@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile