Health and Health Inequality

Faculty working in this area use sociological approaches to understand health as a manifestation of broader structures of social inequality. Research includes examinations of cumulative advantage processes as mechanisms of health inequality, social mobility and trajectories of health, inequality in health behaviours and well-being, health professions, work and health, intimate partner violence, and Aboriginal well-being.

Research Stories


Current Projects

Completed Projects

Faculty Experts in Health and Health Inequality

Teresa Abada, Associate Professor
Director, Collaborative Graduate Program in Migration and Ethnic Relations (MER)

Teresa Abada
  • Social, cultural, human capital
  • Migration
  • Immigrant health
  • Immigrant integration
  • Economic and social integration of children of immigrants

SSC 5429
519-661-2111 x83690
tabada@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anders Holm, Professor

Anders Holm
  • Quantitative methods
  • Socioeconomic status over the lifecourse
  • Social stratification
  • Inter-generational mobility
  • Sociology of health

SSC 5327
519-661-2111 x 85515
aholm@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Kim Shuey, Professor

Kim Shuey
  • Health and disability across the life course
  • Transmission of health across generations
  • Precarious employment, work and health
  • Environmental sociology.

SSC 5426
519-661-2111 x85135
kshuey@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Andrea Willson, Associate Professor

Andrea Willson
  • Social inequality over the life course
  • Aging and the life course
  • Health effects of socioeconomic status across generations
  • Quantitative research
On Leave - July 1 to December 31, 2022
SSC 5423
519-661-2111 x85132
willson@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Yoko Yoshida, Associate Professor

Yoshida_sm.jpg
  • Immigration and integration
  • Social statistics
  • Race and ethnicity
  • Social inequality
  • Inequality in health

SSC 5409
519-661-2111 x85045
yoko.yoshida@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anna Zajacova, Associate Professor
Graduate Chair, Department of Sociology

Anna Zajacova
  • Social epidemiology
  • Health inequalities
  • Demography
  • Lifecourse and aging
  • Ethnicity
  • Quantitative methods

SSC 5330
519-661-2111 x85123
anna.zajacova@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile