Centre for Population, Aging and HealthWestern Social Science

Members

Andrea Willson, Associate Professor

Andrea Willson
  • Social inequality of the life course
  • Longitudinal data methods
  • Socioeconomic status and health

willson@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85132
SSC 5423
Faculty Profile

Teresa Abada, Associate Professor

Teresa Abada
  • Economic and social integration of children of immigrants

tabada@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x83690
SSC 5429
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Tracey Adams, Professor
Chair, Department of Sociology

Tracey Adams
  • Professions, gender and work
  • Regulation of professions in Canada (alternate health professions)

tladams@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85142
SSC 5328
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

William R. Avison, Professor Emeritus
Scientist and Chair, Children’s Health & Therapeutics, Children’s Health Research Institute
Scientist and Assistant Director, Lawson Health Research Institute
Cross-appointed in Dept. of Paediatrics and Dept. of Epidemiology & Biostatistics

William R. Avison
  • Medical sociology
  • Social disparities in maternal and child health
  • Families experiencing stress across the life course

wavison@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85515
SSC 5327
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Roderic P. Beaujot, Professor Emeritus
Leader, Population Change and Lifecourse Strategic Knowledge Cluster

Roderic Beaujot
  • Demographics and implications for social policy

rbeaujot@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x83689
SSC 5212
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Kate H. Choi, Assistant Professor

Kate Choi
  • Family demography
  • International migration
  • Social stratification
  • Quantitative methods

hchoi228@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85115
SSC 5331
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Ingrid Arnet Connidis, Professor

Ingrid Arnet Connidis
  • Family ties and aging
  • Centrality of gender to family life
  • Value of life course perspective and context in studying relationships
  • Policy implications of research results

connidis@uwo.ca
519-661-3691
SSC 5329
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Lorraine Davies, Associate Professor
Associate Vice-Provost, School of Graduate and Post-Doctoral Studies

Lorraine Davies
  • Gender inequality
  • Stress and women’s health across the life course
  • The effects of interpersonal violence on women’s well-being

ldavies@uwo.ca
519-661-2102
SSB 4180
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Michael Haan, Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair in Migration and Ethnic Relations
Co-Director, Statistics Canada Research Data Centre at Western

Michael Haan
  • Demography
  • Immigrant settlement
  • Labour market integration
  • Data development

mhaan2@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 ext. 85110
SSC 5324
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Laura Huey, Associate Professor

no photo
  • Policing
  • Victimization
  • Trauma and resiliency
  • Research and policy

lhuey@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85151
SSC 5213
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Don Kerr, Professor
Sociology, King's University College

  • population estimates and projections
  • environmental, social, family, and Canadian demography
  • Aboriginal population

dkerr@uwo.ca
519-433-3491 x4438
KUC FB113
Faculty Profile

Rachel Margolis, Assistant Professor

Rachel Margolis
  • Demography
  • Family
  • Health and Well-being

rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x82850
SSC 5326
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Julie McMullin, Professor
Vice-Provost (International)
Director, Workforce Aging in the New Economy

Julie McMullin
  • How class, age, gender, ethnicity, and race, structure inequality in paid work and families

mcmullin@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x86409
StvH 3107G
On leave, serving as Vice-Provost (International)

Kim Shuey, Associate Professor
Graduate Chair, Sociology

Kim Shuey
  • Health inequality across the life course
  • Work, health, and aging in the new economy
  • Nonstandard and precarious employment

kshuey@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85135
SSC 5426
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile